Dylann Roof: My Opinions

In case you miraculously haven’t heard of all that’s happened surrounding Dylann Roof, I’ll explain the situation before talking about how I feel. 
On June 17 2015, Dylann Roof entered the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina. For an hour, he sat with churchgoers and listened to Reverend Clementa Pinckney talk. Once people began praying, he pulled out a handgun and pointed it at 87 year old Susie Jackson. Her 27 year old nephew Tywanza Sanders tried to talk Roof down, and ask why he was attacking people, but Roof only replied with, “I have to do it. You rape our women and you’re taking over our country. And you have to go”. Nine people were killed that day, and 3 more injured. 
Dylann Roof was charged with 9 counts of murder, and 3 counts of attempted murder, and on January 10, was sentenced to the death penalty. There has been a lot of controversy over whether he deserves to die, and I thought I’d share my opinion. 
I’ve never really been the biggest fan of capital punishment, because I think it’s just a tad hypocritical to kill people to show killing people is wrong. However, in this case, I believe it’s not exactly a bad idea, because he did plan every last detail of the murder of over 10 people in attempts of “starting a race war”. There are multiple pictures of him posing with Confederate flags, and other racist “memorabilia”, so there is no mistaking this was a hate crime and not just a mass shooting. 
Unbelievably, some people are defending him and saying he doesn’t deserve to die. Maybe he doesn’t, but neither did the nine innocent churchgoers he brutally murdered for no reason other his own prejudices. I have seen people talking about how he doesn’t deserve to die because they think he’s attractive?? Sorry, I didn’t realise having socially praised bone structure made you innocent. Now don’t get me wrong, I am fascinated by serial killers, more in the psychological reasons behind it than the actual murders, but fetishising a racist because you think he’s mildly pleasing to look at is fucked up in ways I can’t even think of. 
Finally, I just want to say that my thoughts are with all the families of Reverend Clements Pinckney, Susie Jackson, Tywanza Sanders, Sharonda Coleman-Singleton, Cynthia Hurd, Ethel Lance, Rev. Daniel Simmons, Myra Thompson, and Rev. Depayne Middleton-Doctor. I hope they are all comforted by the decision that has been made. 
Thank you for reading this post guys. I hope you’re all doing well. 
xxx

Leave a Reply

