Study Hacks

Hello everyone! Day 7 of blogmas is here, and it’s study hacks! I know you might be thinking, “but Amy, it’s half term tomorrow, why on earth are you doing a post on study hacks?“. Well, thanks to my sport teacher, I have an exam 2 weeks after we go back to school in the new year, so I thought I’d share some of my tips, just in case some of you are in the same position as me. 

1. Make flashcards. 

The amount of index cards I have is unreal, but they have saved my life so many times. They’re great because you can take them everywhere, instead of trying to drag massive posters and books around. I usually make a mind map to stick on my wall first, and make it really detailed, then make flash cards out of each branch (is that what you call them?). You can use them for quotes, vocab, testing yourself (or getting your mum to), or just notes you want to take in the car. 

2. Stay hydrated. 

I know I sound like a right granny here, but studying tires you out, and staying hydrated helps keep that down. I have a massive bottle from New Look that I always keep full, and I try to drink one of those everyday, and more if I’m studying. 

3. Get prepared before. 

Like I said in the last point, you need water. If you’re like me, you’ll need snacks, and music, and highlighters, and about a million other things when you’re studying. And there is certainly nothing worse than sitting down super motivated only to realise you’re going to have to trek around the house to get everything. Be. Prepared. 

4. Write. It. Down. 

Another way to remember things is to write it out repeatedly. You’re bound to have some random notebook somewhere that you’re “saving for something special”, but you’re just going to have to say “fuck it” and write down everything you want to remember in it. I do this all the time for my French vocab, and I swear it’s the only way I remember anything. 

5. Do practice questions and papers. 

Oh my lord, practice papers are my babes. Nothing is more helpful than doing the same content that will be in your exams. You can get so many on the Internet, just google “aqa biology practice papers”, or whatever subject you’re studying. Print them out, draw all over them, or just read them through, so you have a basic idea of what you’re doing. Honestly I don’t think I’d be alive right now if but for practice papers. 

6. Try the pomodoro technique. 

Setting breaks and keeping to them is the hardest thing about studying for me, but with the pomodoro technique, you study for 25 minutes, then have a 5 minute break, and repeat that a few times, then have a longer break. I use an app called 30/30, and you can set different timers for different things with different colours and symbols and everything else you could want. 

7. Make your breaks productive.  

Don’t sit there for 5 minutes on social media and end up driving away to the realms of those oddly satisfying Instagram pages. Set yourself a specific activity for each break, like reading a book, or playing a brain teaser, or practising an instrument (for longer breaks). 

Thanks for reading guys! I hope this has helped if you’ve got exams soon. 
xxx

Leave a Reply

