3 Books I Wouldn’t Recommend 

*SPOILERS ABOUT ‘ALL THE RAGE’ BY COURTNEY SUMMERS, ‘GONE’ BY MICHAEL GRANT, AND ‘PAPER TOWNS’ BY JOHN GREEN*
Hello guys! Once again this is a tiny bit late (sorry!), but it’s a post that I’m happy with so I’m going with it. I was going to do a post about my favourite books, but I’d written about 10 pages just about how much I love the Throne of Glass series (I will get round to doing a review of that sometime soon), so I decided to switch it up a bit. 
1. All The Rage – Courtney Summers

I’m going to be blunt: this was shit. The blurb makes it seem like she hunts down the dude who rapes her friend, but honestly it’s just her being teased at school, and her friend going missing. I think I partially didn’t like it because the blurb was such a bad representation of the story, but it was also pretty confusing because it flipped between two weeks ago, and now, and just seemed a bit sloppy, if I’m honest. 

2. Gone – Michael Grant

The book itself is not that bad, but the fact that there’s 5 books after it, and the ones I actually managed to get through seemed to get worse as they went on was what got me. I found the main character, Sam, such a stereotypical “white boy hero saves everyone” trope, and the fact he gets with the female lead who’s very Mary Jane-ish to me (smart, kind, pretty but not too pretty, etc). Also the fact that there was only one black character who stood out from anything, and she was also a lesbian, kind of made it seem like she was such a token character. I’m not saying that black lesbians don’t exist, but to say she was the only black person, and the only LGBT+ character made it seem like she was only there to make it “diverse”. 
3. Paper Towns

Once again, I’m going to get straight to the point: the ending is shit. I think I would have liked it if the ending wasn’t so blunt? The whole revenge ride around their neighbourhood, and the intense road trip that had no real meaning, kind of felt pointless once she was like “yeah it’s cool I’m fine I’m off now bye”. Also the movie was pretty crappy too. 
Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoyed today’s post! Leave a comment if you agree/disagree, and if there’s any books you wouldn’t recommend. 

xxx

2 thoughts on “3 Books I Wouldn’t Recommend 

Leave a Reply

